Drunk Driving


At the law firm of DDPC Law., our criminal defense lawyers represent people who have been arrested and charged with any of several Michigan drunk driving offenses, including misdemeanor or felony charges of operating while intoxicated (OWI) or operating while visibly impaired (OWVI).

The right defense strategy for your case is going to depend on many factors: Do you have prior Michigan or out-of-state DUI or DWI convictions? What was your blood alcohol level? Are you under age 21? Did you refuse a breath test? Were you involved in a serious injury accident? Contact us at any of our three office locations to learn how we can build and present the defense that’s right for your situation.


For first offenders, both OWI and OWVI are misdemeanors. The main difference between the two charges has to do with your blood alcohol level after your arrest. If you were shown to be intoxicated at a level of .08 percent blood alcohol or greater, you risk conviction of OWI, with a 180-day driver’s license suspension, up to 93 days in jail, community service, and fines and fees up to $1,500. If you refused a breath test or if your blood alcohol concentration was measured to be less than .08 percent, you can still be convicted of OWVI with similar penalties.

The main difference in punishment between OWI and OWVI involves the suspension period. The latter offense calls for a suspension of only 90 days as compared with the 180-suspension that results from an OWI conviction. For many drivers, the chance to plead to OWVI on an OWI charge represents a favorable outcome.


At DDPC Law, our attorneys concentrate on finding a way to defeat the charge against you before we start thinking in terms of plea negotiations.

We examine the circumstances of your traffic stop and arrest to see if there are constitutional or procedural grounds for dismissing the case. If there are reasons to doubt the toxicology evidence against you, we can have our own experts analyze the samples or challenge the operation or maintenance of the breath test device. We know how to use any weaknesses we find in the case against you to your advantage.

We represent people in Wayne County, Oakland County and Macomb County on drunk driving charges of all kinds, including felony repeat cases and vehicular manslaughter charges. To learn how you can benefit from the counsel of experienced Michigan DUI defense attorneys, contact DDPC Law in Livonia, Grosse Pointe Farms or Novi.